New perspective on an old frustration

Jack of all trades, master of none. That’s me in my office…I’m the shaman – or so it might seem to people around me. I often fall victim to people-don’t-know-exactly-what-it-is-I-do-so-I-feel-lost syndrome. I am a data analyst who took the position filled formerly by a market researcher. My position was a new thought that sprang out of a year of change for my office. Most of us n00bs have been here nearly a year now and have done well to settle into our job pants.

It recently became clear to me that I need to grateful rather than frustrated by inability to be classified or lumped into a “this is what I do” category. Sure, it may be frustrating at times but it’s not really a bad thing.

What I would like to be – a go getter. A “sure I can do that” person. I would like to not be limited. I can learn computer programs. I can learn statistics. I can learn whatever it is I need to be successful at any endeavour.

What I need to do – I need to always be positive. I need to say yes to all projects. I need to make it clear that I can do what has to be done, and I can do it well. I need to be an initiator. I need to get the ball rolling – make suggestions about what I could do that would enhance and add to the project or office.

I have never sought to be framed, categorized, or easily referenced in any part of my life. I am glad to realize I am just unwieldly in regards to classification in my professional work as well.

Something to think about…Once people know what it is you “do”, you may never get to try new things. Embrace lack of classification. You get to wear a lot more hats and you look great in all of them.

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “New perspective on an old frustration

  1. Kendra says:

    I look horrible in hats. :/

    What are your suggestions?

  2. Brian says:

    someone else feels the same way I do? brilliant!

Leave a Reply

