Of Lemons and Life…

Things in my little corner of the world have been topsy-turvy as of late.  I was quite happy bumbling around in the course I felt quite confident I had plotted for myself.  Come to find, I was wrong.  One little hiccup and everything changed.

A lemon if you will.

I would be lying if I said I wasn’t disappointed initially at the circumstances tossed my way.  Who isn’t thrown off balance when the plans they’ve been counting on suddenly vanish?  Life looks a bit more scary, a tad more unpredictable, and slightly less friendly than it normally does.  But as I was reminded time and time again over the past few week by some wonderful folks, it’s really not that bad.  They were so very, very right.

I’m pleased to say that I have re-learned a few valuable lessons recently.  They include, but are not limited to…

  1. There is nothing in this world finer than friends you can call any time.  Folks who’s opinion you value and people who only want what’s best for you.  (family counts too of course)
  2. You may think you know what’s best/right/intended for you, but you can be wrong.  And not the type of wrong that’s mean or spiteful, but the comforting sort of wrong that seems to say, “No.  No.  This way silly.  It’s better.  I promise.”
  3. Not only do I love to run, but I need to run as well.  It is my therapy.  In those few precious moments each day I am able to recenter myself.  I crave the balance provided by running through the miles.  It’s so much more than exercise.
  4. Waking up each day and knowing you made the best decision for yourself is a great feeling.
  5. Finally, falling back into something you love is amazing.  It’s like coming home.   Back to a place where you know you do good things, and people appreciate you simply because they like having you around.  🙂

The moral of this post (as I’m not certain that it’s particularly clear), be true to yourself.  I learned that I could respond in a negative way to unexpected changes, but I choose not to do so.  I would much rather be surprised.  Take a look around and say, “Huh.  I never thought that this is precisely where I would be, but I’m glad I came all the same.”

In summation, make lemonade.  It is summer after all.  🙂

Lemon

Leave a Reply

