Green Pages

Don’t you hate that day when you arrive home and find 10 lbs. of paper on your doorstep?  You know what I’m talking about.  Those dreaded white and yellow pages.  

As soon as I get them I promptly carry them across the street to the paper recycling bin.  Why do they print all of those things out?  It seems so wasteful.  No one ever asked me if I wanted a phone book.  If I needed one.  To be sure, some folks absolutely use and need a tangible phone book in their home.  Thanks to smart phones and my trusty MacBook, I have no use for it.  But how do I make it stop?

Check it out.  Sign up if you would like to opt out.  The idea is to make this like the no call registry.  I don’t have to take that extra trip to the recycle bin.  And somewhere a tree is thanking me.  Karma.  Love it.  

Yellow Green Pages.  What a good idea.

5 thoughts on “Green Pages

  1. Lisa Whitaker says:

    Thanks, Emilee, for posting this! I feel the same way and will promptly opt out!

  2. diremirth says:

    I am just spreading the good word. I got the article from a friend on my GoogleReader. 🙂 Ah, the power of technology…

  3. Brian says:

    Do you have a new blog I don’t know about? I haven’t seen a post on this blog or Going Boldly for a while. Just checking…

  4. David Pylyp says:

    What a wonderful idea Please check my follow up along the same lines with a link to your post and your Yellow Pages Opt Out information.

    http://eleganthomesinwesttoronto.blogspot.com/2010/02/can-we-opt-out-of-traditional.html

    Maybe we should OPT out! Can we?

    David Pylyp
    ShopTOism

  5. […] uses the front door since they enter and exit via the garage. What should one do? Can we OPT out? Emilee from Dire Mirth would like to create an OPT out Page for the Green Pages. Comanche Marketing would have you negotiate a tougher position with the […]

Leave a comment