Wizard’s First Rule

Okay.  So, I am totally a geek.  Perhaps you know that, but I felt the need to preface this post with a geek qualifier.

Sam Raimi and Rob Tapert are joining forces as producers again to bring Wizard’s First Rule to TV this fall.  We all know Sam Raimi, or should know him, as the director of the Spider Man films.  Those of you know know the Raimi/Tapert duo will recall movies like Evil Dead and Army of Darkness – not to mention other TV fabulousness like Hercules and Xena.  I am delighted to see them back working on the small screen.

Wizard’s First Rule will be on Disney (I know, I know) starting in September 2008.  Currently 22 episodes are being filmed on location in New Zealand.  Yes, folks.  Middle Earth.  The series will be based on Terry Goodkind’s best-selling fantasy book series, “The Sword of Truth.”  You can bet I will be adding at least one of those books (of which there are 11 + 1 novella) to my summer reading list. 

To sum it all up, I am super excited!  The show could be really great.  I’ve missed a weekly Raimi/Tapert fantasy TV drama.  It’s been a seven-year dry spell from their quirky storylines and delightful camp. 

It could be just the reason I was looking for to keep my cable subscription come fall.  Maybe the DVR too…   😉

Leave a Reply

